Fortran in Physics - Its Legacy and its Future?

A joint meeting organised by
the BCS Fortran Specialist Group and
the Institute of Physics Computational Physics Group

marking the 40th anniversary of the
formation of the Fortran Specialist Group

10.00 - 17.00, Monday 7th June 2010
BCS London Office, First Floor, The Davidson Building,
5 Southampton Street, London WC2E 7HA


10.00 Coffee, tea and biscuits
10.20 Welcome and introduction – Peter Crouch, Chairman, BCS Fortran SG
10.30 40 years of the Fortran SG and Fortran standards (453KB PDF file)
David Muxworthy, BSI Fortran convenor
  40 Years of Fortran standards
Blog post created by Sean McManus, Catalysis Communications Ltd
11.30 Fortran 2008 and Coarrays (available as 29KB 1/page or 19KB 4/page PDF files)
John Reid, ISO WG5 convenor
  Achieving parallelism in Fortran 2008 using Coarrays
Blog post created by Sean McManus, Catalysis Communications Ltd
12.30 Buffet Lunch and networking
13.30 Afternoon session – Chairman: John Pelan, Liaison Officer, IoP Computational Physics Group
  Congratulations (2.5MB Windows Media A/V file, 1m 40s running time)
A message from Steve Lionel, Intel Developer Support, Intel Compiler Labs, Nashua, New Hampshire
  From Serial to Parallel: How to leap across the parallel paradigm (6.6MB PDF file)
Stephen Blair-Chappell, Intel Corporation (UK) Limited
  Video including demonstration of Intel 80-Core Tera-scale chip (37.5MB FLV file, 8m running time)
from Intel Research Day, Santa Clara, California, 20 June 2007.
(You will need a Flash Video plugin/program to view this file)
  Ten top tips for converting programs from serial to parallel
Blog post created by Sean McManus, Catalysis Communications Ltd
14.30 Physics & the HECToR HPC service, and NAG product update (1.5MB PDF file)
Craig Lucas, Numerical Algorithms Group Ltd
15.30 Afternoon Tea
16.00 Discussion – Fortran in Physics - its Future – lead by John Pelan
17.00 Close


The organisers are pleased to thank Polyhedron Software Ltd for providing a Samsung netbook as the prize in a free draw which took place during the discussion period. The netbook was won by Gerard Lebon of the University of Greenwich.
Thanks are also due to the Numerical Algorithms Group Ltd, Polyhedron and Intel Corporation (UK) Ltd for providing free Fortran-related and other material to attendees of the meeting.

Photos taken at the meeting are available courtesy of Jane Sleightholme, Ian Chivers and John Reid

Comments on this or any other of the Group's pages should be sent by email to the FSG Web Editor.
Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional Valid CSS!

Last modified: Wed 2 Nov 2011 09:30:36